The Chinese cemetery was established in 1868, north of the Humboldt River in the vicinity of the Humboldt Museum complex. The Chinese picket-fenced their graveyard in the 1880s, but by 1962, all fences had disappeared and the cemetery is no longer there.
The Humboldt Museum proudly displays a drawing of Winnemucca's Chinatown district, circa 1901-1910. The drawing was made from memory by James R. Chew, when he visited the Museum in the 1970s. Mr. Chew also contributed a detailed description of the places and people shown in the drawing; click "read more" to read Mr. Chew's fascinating description of life in Chinatown just after the turn of the century.